CTG serves the theatre community and the public.

No other organization works to assist theatre companies, small and large, in cultivating and sustaining audience membership and promoting new and emerging artists.


The Colorado Theatre Guild (CTG) encourages growth and excellence in live theatre in Colorado by creating connections within the theatre community and providing supporting programs and services in education, advocacy and promotion to patrons, producers and artists.


We envision a thriving live theatre community in Colorado, where artists, theatres and patrons are empowered to connect with one another, share resources, create and benefit from increased opportunity, and support each other’s successes and endeavors.

Inclusiveness – where the full range of theatres, artists and patrons have a place at the table.
Diversity – where everyone is welcome and belongs in the Colorado theatre community.
Community – where the bond between patrons, producers and artists is viewed as being interdependent, generative and supportive.
Collaboration – where a vibrant community is maintained through continual partnership, interaction, flow of ideas and resources, and work together.
Celebration – where the achievements, contributions, and friendships of members of the community are highlighted and appreciated.
Excellence – where quality theatre is aspired to, empowered and recognized.
Artistry – where unique expression, imagination and ability are supported and promoted.
Progressiveness – where an eye is kept on the future of live theatre.
Professionalism – where we operate as an organization with integrity and accountability.

Founded in 1979 as the “Colorado Theatre Producers Guild” by Henry Lowenstein, Ed Baierlein, Al Brooks and Maxine Munt, the Guild was initially created to bring producers of live theatre in Colorado together to communicate and share information.  In 1999, the organization adopted a new trade name and broadened the scope of its membership to include both theatre production companies and individuals in the theatre community.  That year The Colorado Theatre Guild, or “CTG,” grew to over 80 members; new committees were formed, and CTG began to develop a broad pallet of new programming to serve its growing community.

In 2001, the CTG received preliminary approval for 501(c)(3) status, with final approval confirmed in early 2006.  In 2003, CTG launched its website which has become a comprehensive resource and communication tool for connecting and enhancing all things theatre in Colorado.  2003 was also the first year CTG collaborated with the Denver Center Theatre Company to allow area producers and directors to participate in the Denver Center’s annual non-equity auditions.  That collaboration continues today and is the largest combined audition in the state.

In June of 2006, CTG produced the first annual “Henry Awards” at the Denver Civic Theatre.  Named for legendary Colorado theatre producer Henry Lowenstein, the Henry Awards honor achievements in acting, directing and design, as well as production and season of work.  In 2008, the Henry Awards were co-sponsored by Actor’s Equity Association, the labor union representing more than 48,000 Actors and Stage Managers in the United States.  In 2010, the Henry Awards were held at the “Space” Theatre at the Denver Center Theatre Company’s performing arts complex in downtown Denver.

Today, the CTG is a completely unique organization with the dual mission of supporting the theatre community while at the same time providing the public with information, access and opportunities relating to live theatre events statewide.  Currently, CTG has nearly 250 individual and organizational members, and CTG member organizations range in size from large theatre companies, such as the Denver Center, to smaller community theatre groups from across the state.  In addition to managing and producing the Henry Awards, CTG offers a weekly e-newsletter, website, workshops and panel discussions on topics of concern to the Colorado theatre community, the New Ventures Series promoting new playwrights, and “Theatre Night Out” – a unique subscription package which offers an affordable sampling of plays from area theatres.

Click here for most recent CTG News

The Colorado Theatre Guild is unequivocally outraged that state-sanctioned violence, oppression, and trauma against Black people is ongoing and has not stopped. This cannot continue. The murders of De’Von Bailey, Elijah McClain, Sandra Bland, Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, George Floyd, Tony McDade, Rayshard Brooks, David McAtee, and countless others are the result of deeply systemic racist beliefs and actions in this country.

CTG Board Members Read the Statement

State-sanctioned and targeted violent acts against BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) LGBTQIA+, and other actively oppressed members of our community here in Colorado and everywhere in the United States, must stop. We at the Colorado Theatre Guild will do our part to dismantle systemic racism and oppression that has happened, and continues to happen, in the theatre industry through our work as an arts service organization.

We believe exceptional theatre fosters a message of inclusion. Now during this time of remarkable trauma, we must hold a mirror up to our audiences, as well as ourselves, in hopes that we might better understand each other and empathize with our common humanity. Human life is at stake, and we can no longer sit idly by and ignore the suffering of our fellow people.

As board members of the Colorado Theatre Guild, we will hold ourselves and each other accountable. Clearly the CTG has work to do in realizing our own biases and eliminating any type of privilege, racist trauma or inequities. Our work can start with revising our mission statement, making changes to all of our programming (including the Henry judging process), and changing how we conduct outreach to our membership. We will work on community accountability by sharing anti-racist practices with Colorado theatre communities and to help those silenced in our community. We know of your suffering, we stand with you, and we will no longer be complacent.

Black Lives Matter
Black Artisans Matter
Black Art Matters


Betty Hart (2023) President betty@coloradotheatreguild.org
T. David Rutherford (2021) Vice President t_david@coloradotheatreguild.org
Iliana Barron (2022) Secretary iliana@coloradotheatreguild.org
Lia Kozatch (2021) Treasurer lia@coloradotheatreguild.org

Members At Large:

Steve Wilson (2022) steve@coloradotheatreguild.org
Lisa Young (2022) lisa@coloradotheatreguild.org
Reece Livingstone (2023) reece@coloradotheatreguild.org
Brian Miller (2023) brian@coloradotheatreguild.org
Abner Genece (2021) abner@coloradotheatreguild.org
Becky Toma – Website Manager webadmin@coloradotheatreguild.org
Barbara Thomas – Henrys Coordinator ctgjudge@coloradotheatreguild.org
  • Timely e-newsletter
  • Workshops
  • Panel discussions on topics of concern to the Colorado theatre community
  • New Ventures Series promoting new playwrights
  • ‘Theatre Night Out’ – a unique subscription package which offers an affordable sampling of plays from area theatres
  • Henry Awards
  • Non-equity auditions
  • Promoting new and emerging artists, directors, producers and others in the theatre industry

Email: cotheatreguild@gmail.com

Mailing Address
Colorado Theatre Guild
P.O. Box 101866
Denver, CO 80250